

Canadian Research Knowledge Network

Réseau canadien de documentation pour la recherche

2019 Annual Meeting of the Members

October 17, 2019

Ottawa, ON

1. Welcome and Call to Order

A. Shepard

Chair: Alan Shepard

Secretary: Rebecca Graham

Scrutineer: Rebecca Ross

Procedure: Standard Code of Parliamentary

Procedure (Sturgis)

Quorum: At least 26 Institutional Members,

participating in person or by proxy

Logistics: Motions, Q&A, voting

Agenda (1/2)

- Welcome and call to order
- Adoption of the agenda DECISION
- 3. Approval of the October 18, 2018 minutes **DECISION**
- 4. Introduction of Directors
- 5. Report of the Chair, Board of Directors
- 6. Executive Director's report
- 7. Treasurer's report
 - 7.1 FY2018-2019 audited financial statements
 - 7.2 Audit RFP and Appointment of auditor for FY2019-2020 — DECISION
 - 7.3 Finance & Audit Committee report
 - 7.4 FY2019-2020 budget & multi-year financial model

Agenda (2/2)

- 8. Content Strategy Committee report
- 9. Preservation and Access Committee report
- 10. Approval of 2019-2024 Strategic Plan **DECISION**
- 11. Changes to CRKN By-laws **DECISION**
- 12. Ratification of Election of Directors **DECISION**
- 13. Appointment of Directors
- 14. CRKN Conference 2020
- 15. Other Business
- 16. Adjournment

2. Adoption of the Agenda

A. Shepard

DECISION

Additions to the agenda?

Motion: That the agenda be adopted as

distributed.

[or as amended]

3. Approval of the Minutes - October 18, 2018

A. Shepard

DECISION

Corrections to the minutes?

Motion:

That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Members (held in Vancouver on October 18, 2018) be approved as

distributed.

[or as corrected]

4. Introduction of Directors

A. Shepard

Elected (9):
Lesley Balcom
Gwen Bird
Constance Crompton
Daniel Godon
Rebecca Graham
Melissa Just
Todd Mundle
Ian Nason
Catherine Steeves

Appointed (2): Alan Shepard Larry Alford

5. Report of the Chair, Board of Directors

A. Shepard

- Ongoing national and international collaboration
- Tools and services to meet member needs
- New services and initiatives as a result of the merger with Canadiana.org
- Strategic planning
- Ron MacDonald Distinguished Service Award Recipient for 2019: Chris Callbeck

6. Executive Director's Reports

C. Appavoo

- Strategic Plan 2019-2024
- Increased engagement with expanded stakeholder community
- Licensing and negotiation
- Heritage content and preservation services

7.1 Treasurer's Report

I. Nason

Fiscal Year 2018-2019 Audited Financial Statements

7.2 Treasurer's Report

I. Nason

DECISION

Audit RFP and Appointment of Auditor for FY2019-2020

Motion:

That the firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP be appointed as the auditors of the Corporation for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2020, and that the Directors of the Corporation be authorized to fix the auditor's remuneration.

7.3 Treasurer's Report

I. Nason

- 2018-2019 report available on the CRKN website
- Highlights for the year-in-review
- Looking forward objectives for 2019-2020

7.4 Treasurer's Report

I. Nason

FY 2019-2020 Budget & Multi-Year Financial Model

- Budget Process
- Fiscal Year 2019-2020 budget highlights
- Heritage Content Access and Preservation Fund
- Multi-year financial model and restricted net assets

8. Content Strategy Committee Report

T. Mundle

- 2018-2019 CSC Annual Report available on CRKN website
- Highlights of 2018-2019 License Renewals
 - Banding Migrations (IOP and ACS)
 - Opt-out Clause
 - Trusted Digital Repository Task Group

9. Preservation and Access Committee Report

R. Graham

- Updates to preservation and access platforms
- Trustworthy Digital Repository review and certification
- Digitization projects
- Metadata updates
- Member and stakeholder engagement
- Task Groups
 - Heritage Content Priorities Task Group
 - Platform Technical Task Group

10. Approval of 2019-2024 Strategic Plan

M. Just

DECISION

Motion: That the CRKN membership adopt the 2019-2024 Strategic Plan as distributed.

11. Changes to CRKN By-laws

M. Just

DECISION

Motion: That the By-laws be adopted as distributed.

12. Ratification of Election of Directors

M. Just

DECISION

Newly-Elected	Term	Position
Guylaine Beaudry	To AGM 2022 (1st term)	CSC Chair
Bernard Bizimana	To AGM 2022 (1st term)	Quebec Region
Denis Cossette	To AGM 2022 (1st term)	Researcher/Administrator
Catherine Steeves	To AGM 2022 (2 nd term)	Ontario Region
Continuing	Term	Position
Lesley Balcom	To AGM 2020 (2 nd term)	Atlantic Region
Gwen Bird	To AGM 2021 (2 nd term)	Large Institution
Constance Crompton	To AGM 2021 (1st term)	Researcher/Administrator
Rebecca Graham	To AGM 2021 (1st term)	PAC Chair
Melissa Just	To AGM 2020 (1st term)	Western Region

Motion:

That the slate of 9 Directors as presented be ratified by the membership.

13. Appointment of Directors

M. Just

Some Board positions are (re-)appointed annually:

- Chair a University Administrator
- Balance Position a CRKN Member
- Balance Position a CRKN Member or academic, research, memory affiliated or stakeholder organization

Elected Board members will meet immediately following the meeting of the members to appoint the Chair and two balance positions, as well as to select a Treasurer and to confirm the officers of the Corporation.

14. CRKN Conference and Meeting of the Members 2020

A. Shepard

CRKN Conference 2020

Location: Fredericton, New Brunswick

Save the date: October 21 to 23, 2020

15. Other business

A. Shepard

16. Adjournment

A. Shepard

Meeting adjourned.

Thanks to:

- Participating Ottawa institutions
- Participants & special guests
- Presenters and moderators
- CRKN Board, committee & task group members and staff



Canadian Research Knowledge Network

Réseau canadien de documentation pour la recherche

2019 Annual Meeting of the Members

October 17, 2019

Ottawa, ON